View Full Version : Another Email Scam
Sonique
01-08-2006, 11:03 AM
I got this in my inbox and thought it was a little dodgy, and after looking around for a few minutes I came to the conclusion that it is a scam.
The link they give in the email looks legit, but just hover your mouse and read the status bar and you can see it leads you elsewhere.
That, and the domain was only registered on the 22nd of December all lead to the old email scam.
From : <renew@plaync.com>
Sent : Saturday, 7 January 2006 12:22:41 AM
To : (removed)@hotmail.com
Subject : PlayNC Account Renewal
Dear PlayNC Client,
This is your official notification from PlayNC that the your account will be deactivated and deleted if not renewed immediately. Previous notifications have been sent to the Billing Contact assigned to this account. You must click the link below to renew your account.
URL REMOVED
Thank you,
PlayNC Customer Support
Refer to this thread also: http://www.l2guru.com/forum/showthread.php?t=17359
Delete it if you receive it.
I got one of those in Damascus' and my joint email account damabrei@gmail.com. Neither of us even have any sort of NC anything registered to that e-mail. It's definately fake.
Damascus
01-09-2006, 11:03 AM
Yarrr and it being like 2am when I found it I nearly fell for it, haha.
Hey you live in SA too. Cool bananas.
Arandir
01-09-2006, 11:39 AM
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y197/Arandir/DONOTCLICK.jpg
NOTE: ".pl" the only reason i didnt block out the url was so people would see the ".pl" at the end... i dont know what the fuck country uses that ending or even if a country does. i just hope people become more aware of links they click on.
i only clicked it cause i have my FireFox set up to to inquire loading a simple picture!!! its quite funny that all the links on that page link you directly back to the actual l2 page; including the ones that open dropdown menus. i always check URL's before clicking on them. if you dont know how to check a URL in a link there are multiple ways. 1. scroll over the link and see what it tells you at the bottom left of your browser window. 2. right click on the link then hit properties. i'm sure there are other ways to check them those are just the simplest ways i can think of.
***if admin has a problem with the URL in the screenshot then i dont have a problem with them removing, i just posted it for informational purposes. or pm me and i'll gladly remove it.***
billy
01-09-2006, 05:07 PM
Yes, I received one too, and it wasn't to an e-mail registered here OR from plaync.
.pl means it's calling a PERL script, but that link is just a mask for the REAL link
http://verification-plaync.com/plaync_new.pl/ (DONT" GO THERE)
Notice the domain...
Arandir
01-09-2006, 08:14 PM
:ef_happy: :ef_happy: :ef_happy: :ef_happy: :ef_happy: :ef_happy: the site is already down now :ef_happy: :ef_happy: :ef_happy: :ef_happy: i just checked it here at work!!! so thats a good thing!!
old ass guy
01-09-2006, 08:43 PM
I believe pl is perl...
Edit: Oh no... billy got me to the pl thing :p
Sonique
01-10-2006, 06:45 AM
Yarrr and it being like 2am when I found it I nearly fell for it, haha.
Hey you live in SA too. Cool bananas.
Lol, sif you don't know who I am.
Think; 'little girl dwarf from prelude/C1'.:dwf_luv:
qwerty
01-10-2006, 09:38 PM
Hi Sonique
Sonique
01-10-2006, 11:48 PM
Hi Sonique
:ef_happy:
evilsquidlord
01-11-2006, 12:04 AM
the ".pl" is poland i think
Sonique
01-11-2006, 05:33 AM
the ".pl" is poland i think
If it was .com.pl then yes, it would be referring to the country code top-level domain, but it's not so it's a filetype, just like .txt is text, .pl is perl.
Damascus
01-11-2006, 05:54 PM
Lol, sif you don't know who I am.
Think; 'little girl dwarf from prelude/C1'.:dwf_luv:
Yeah yeah it didn't click until a day later, while I was at work.
Elvithril
01-12-2006, 09:29 AM
If i clicked it but changed my info afterwards, would I be safe? <.<
Prwler
01-12-2006, 04:43 PM
dont think u are..
evilsquidlord
01-12-2006, 07:32 PM
If it was .com.pl then yes, it would be referring to the country code top-level domain, but it's not so it's a filetype, just like .txt is text, .pl is perl.
oh ok
StealthRaptor
01-13-2006, 01:11 AM
From : <renew@plaync.com>
Sent : Saturday, 7 January 2006 12:22:41 AM
To : (removed)@hotmail.com
Subject : PlayNC Account Renewal
Dear PlayNC Client,
This is your official notification from PlayNC that the your account will be deactivated and deleted if not renewed immediately. Previous notifications have been sent to the Billing Contact assigned to this account. You must click the link below to renew your account.
URL REMOVED
Thank you,
PlayNC Customer Support
StealthRaptor
01-13-2006, 01:11 AM
once again the scammers have excellent grammar.
KnightOddessey
01-13-2006, 11:16 AM
From all the NCSoft mails ive ever gotten always had a line stuff like this...
-------------------------------
-------------------------------
saying write in between and stuff if your going to reply. The ones that say write in between the lines are most likely true.
and yes, that E-Mail u got seems to be fake.
GunGrave
01-24-2006, 11:22 AM
i mean like #$@#$ scammers -_-
i got scammed like alot :'(
cause well iam sorta chill i guess :/ when some fcker in giran comes up and asks for sh1t and i can afford it i mean why not but so far that attitude didnt work at all so iam now all for the mean gungrave mode XD
anyways just wanted to say that this sorta messed up stuff gimps some ppl who aint all like good with email and stuff i got some nephews who play l2 and if they would get this email they would do it not because they are retarded but if ur like 10 years and dutch u cant understand jack shit english and will be like errr open link put in lineage2 info ect ect
but i have tought my padawans well dont do anything with GunGrave present ^^
yippie kay yay mofo's :ef_happy:
Sacrifice
01-26-2006, 05:29 AM
Scamming is only how far you let people trick you, personally all email i read which i didnt iniated in the first place i will delete. I never reply, i create a new email and copy - paste the content into the mail. I play since beta lineage1 non stop in online games, never i have been scammed. :)
Goomba
02-05-2006, 05:16 PM
Hehe well really i am only posting here to see if my signature works but also scamming is pretty gay i mean...that kinda sad how people do that it pisses me off.....but yeah i hope the sig works...bye now ^^
-={Goomba}=-:dem_swt2:
Drizzen
02-13-2006, 05:33 AM
yeah because ncsoft uses a hotmail account. i really hope no one every feel for this
maian
02-19-2006, 05:39 AM
People fall for "give me your weapon, I will OE it safely".
Vibrato
04-04-2006, 02:42 PM
got this e-mail today, funny part is I don't have my hotmail address registered on my account...:dem_happy
Dear PlayNC User,
PlayNC is committed to maintaining a safe environment for its Community of Gamers. To protect the security of your account, PlayNC employs some of the most advanced security systems in the world and our Anti-Fraud Teams regularly screen your Game-Account for system unusual activity.
We are contacting you to remind you that on 3 April 2006 our Account Review Team identified some unusual activity in your account.
To secure your account and quickly handel this unusual activity we need some information about your account.
To securely confirm your PlayNC account information please use the link below:
(link deleted, but it was a .pl)
- PlayNC Team
---
Reference Number: 050727-000432
Lineage® II and Lineage® II: The Chaotic Chronicle are registered trademarks of NCsoft Corporation.
All rights reserved worldwide. NCsoft® is a trademark of NCsoft Corporation.
All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.
vBulletin® v3.7.0, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.